Virtual Vehicle

Integrated Vehicle Development

Vision

To meet the current and future challenges facing the automotive industry (e.g. e-mobility, integrated safety), an interdisciplinary approach is essential. More than ever before, the emphasis is shifting to the cross-domain design and optimization of systems.

These tasks require strong collaboration and networking between specialized research areas. The research department "Integrated Vehicle Development" is the result of the continuous evolution of the VIRTUAL VEHICLE organization to meet these demands.

Combining the Fields of Expertise

The research department „Integrated Vehicle Development“ focuses on the integrative development of vehicles and systems from an interdisciplinary perspective and expertise. To this end, the experts and competences of the existing areas Areas „Information & Process Management“, „Mechanics & Materials“ und „Cross Domain“ are integrated based on their concrete research tasks, and interdisciplinary teams are assembled. The research department „Integrated Vehicle Development“ consists of the four work groups „Integrated Safety“, „Materials & Forming Technologies“, „Information Management“ and „Cross-Enterprise Processes and Methods“.

Bringing together these fields of expertise will create new synergies and chances and will further increase the overall performance of the research center. Some examples would be the growing importance of a closer combination of Smart Engineering and Production, the increased application of methods and processes (Systems Engineering, Data- and Information Management, ...) as well as dealing with human- and driver models (incl. mental models) including Human Factors in a comprehensive way.  Also, the inter-disciplinary cooperation with other departments should be strengthened.
Finally, the topic „Virtualization“ of development can be intensived by a closer interaction of modeling, simulation and process.

Virtual Vehicle
German | English

Integrated Vehicle Development

Vision

Die aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen für die Automobilentwicklung (z. B. E-Mobilität, integrierte Sicherheit) erfordert einen interdisziplinären Ansatz. Domänenübergreifende Auslegung von Systemen und deren Optimierung werden daher zukünftig mehr denn je zentrale Herausforderungen sein.

Diese Aufgaben erfordern eine starke Zusammenarbeit und Vernetzung zwischen den fachspezifischen Forschungsbereichen. Das Research Department "Integrated Vehicle Development" ist eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung der Organisation des VIRTUAL VEHICLE, um diesen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden.

Verbund der Kompetenzfelder

Das Research Department „Integrated Vehicle Development“ konzentriert sich auf die integrative Entwicklung von Fahrzeug und Systemen aus einer disziplinübergreifenden Sicht und Expertise. Dabei werden die vorhandenen Kompetenzfelder und Experten der Areas „Information & Process Management“, „Mechanics & Materials“ und „Cross Domain“ gebündelt und in Abhängigkeit der konkreten Forschungsaufgabenstellungen integriert sowie interdisziplinäre Teams zusammengestellt. Das Research Department „Integrated Vehicle Development“ besteht aus den vier Arbeitsgruppen „Integrated Safety“, „Materials & Forming Technologies“, „Information Management“ sowie „Cross-Enterprise Processes and Methods“.

Durch diese Zusammenführung können Synergien und Chancen künftig erheblich besser genutzt und damit die Schlagkraft des Forschungszentrums deutlich erhöht werden. Einige Beispiele dafür sind etwa die immer wichtiger werdende, engere Verzahnung von Smart Engineering and Production, die verstärkte Anwendung von Methoden und Prozessen (Systems Engineering, Daten- und Informationsmanagement, ...) oder auch die umfassendere Behandlung von Mensch- und Fahrermodellen  (inkl. mentaler Modelle) einschließlich Human Factors.  Aber auch die Disziplin-übergreifende Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Abteilungen soll dadurch gestärkt werden. Das Thema Virtualisierung der Entwicklung kann über das verstärkte Zusammenspiel von Modellierung, Simulation und Prozess intensiver adressiert werden.